Cambodia: Why it left an impact on me.

Well well. Haven’t blogged for a long time. Been really busy running around places. Never had a chance to sit down and composed myself. Finally, now I have a chance to that after moving house, youth camp, my trip to KL, going to Cambodia. Yes, my life is damn happening.

Cambodia. A place that I first visited 4 years ago and I made a promise to myself that I will go back every year to sow the seeds that we planted. But due to some unforeseen circumstances, I have been unable to do that.

And now 4 years later, I’m back. The customs officers  are still as unfriendly as before, the air still smells the same, the roads still as dusty as ever and the traffic is still horrendous.

But I notice a subtle change. There were more cars on the road now. Lexus, Mercedes and BMWs now joined the motorbikes and tut tuts in the fight for space on the roads. As the driver from church commented, ‘alot of cars for a third world country’.

It felt great to be back. I missed Cambodia and Cambodia prob missed me too 🙂

In the village, I did something I have never done before. And that was to wash someone’s hair. While I was washing the kids hair, there was this woman who wanted her hair to be washed, but for some reason, she kept hesitating. But I gave her a big smile and beckoned her to come.

She came, I washed her hair, and when she looked at me later, her face was full of gratitude. I was touched. I mean, I don’t do this everyday, and I’m no hair washing pro, so yups, her gratitude meant a great deal to me. She wasn’t done yet though. When we were washing the dishes, she came over to help, and during sermon she was very responsive too.

To quote a team member, she said: ‘If I were to live in this village, I don’t know if I am able to trust God’. I kinda of agree with her. I mean, walking around the village, we had to navigate our way around the countless animals’ dung. Village life is not for everyone. To see the kids there running around together with the chickens, ducks and cows, it is really incredible that these people still trust in God and come to church faithfully. What touched me was, God not only watches over average people like you and me, but people who have absolutely nothing.

And 4 days later, as my plane took off the runway, I looked down at the beautiful country below me. I remember the smiles on the people faces and the friends that I made. Tears came to my eyes as I prayed over the country. Most importantly, I found the main reason why God allowed me to go on this trip. Its the kids, or rather, the next generation.

I will miss Cambodia.

1 Comment

Filed under Cambodia

One response to “Cambodia: Why it left an impact on me.

  1. Nice!! We often go for missions with a mindset that we’re there to blessed, but in fact we get blessed by them the most.

    Now I’m really motivated to go back for missions too. It was a 2009 resolution that I’ve sent for myself last year, but have been procrastinating for as long as I can. Now, I must get my ‘act’ together and yes!!

Leave a Reply

