Football has gone to the dogs.

Football used to be all about fair play and respect.

But sadly, there’s no such thing in today’s game. We have players who dive for to win a penalty, scream in to the referee’s face when things don’t go their way, and even knowingly score a goal with their hand.

And then now, we have a coach who comes out and order his players to handle the ball when they lose possession due to injury. This joker is none other than Arsenal’s coach, Prof Arsene Wenger.

Case in point:

Denilson was on the ball in midfield at the Emirates on Saturday when he suddenly collapsed in pain clutching his side, allowing Everton to launch a quick counter attack which almost won them the game.

But Wenger said: ‘I wasn’t upset that Everton played on. I said to Denilson that if that happens you have to commit a handball. I’m very serious.

‘If you go down and there hasn’t been a foul, you cannot ask Everton to stop their counter attack and not score. So, if you go down like that, at least put your hand on the ball and it’s a free-kick.’

What the hell?. I’m disappointed. Really. Such words coming from a learned man like Wenger. I’m a Manchester United fan, but I have great respect for Wenger. I admire how he build a team with players who are as old as me, and for giving good suggestion to improve the game of football.

But after his latest comments, my respect for him has gone down a notch. Remember, this is the same guy who claimed he was ‘blind’ when his striker dived to win a penalty.

For his latest comment, I believe that Arsene Wenger should be punished. Lest some kid in his school’s soccer team thinks its perfectly alright  to handle the ball when he’s fouled.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1242140/Arsene-Wenger-tells-injured-Arsenal-players-handball.html#ixzz0cbCEqGgm

3 Comments

Filed under Football

3 responses to “Football has gone to the dogs.

  1. Ke

    You obviously don’t play competitive football. This is a common practice that when a player is injured on the tackle to fall on the ball to ensure stoppage in case the referee doesn’t call the foul.

    If his comments were taken in the same sense as you did by football professionals and analysts don’t you think there will be an Henry-scale uproar?

    It’s one thing to have an opinion and another to make sense.

  2. tauhuayboy

    Thank you for your comments. Though I may not play competitive football, I know the rules.

    My point in this post is not to say whether this ‘unspoken’ rule in football is correct or not. What I’m trying to point out that a coach like, Arsene Wenger, whom I have a lot of respect for, should not be making these kind of comments.

    It just make him look like a sore loser.

  3. Frankly, Wenger is right in this sense. For example, in competitive matches, if I am fouled from behind, I would fall and grab the ball with me. Decisions don’t always favor you.

Leave a Reply

