Day 10: “I’m only stopping when I’m dead”

It’s Day 10 of my journey in to CrossFit. I have started to notice that despite training 6 days a week, my body doesn’t feel as sore as when I was lifting heavy weights all the time. Heck, I don’t even suffer from DOMS anymore. While Coach Sam has been trying his best to torture me, he says the worst for me has yet to come. I decided to post it up on Facebook and see what my friends in the fitness world would say.

Screen Shot 2013-05-09 at 10.34.02 PM

For the uninitiated, Feng Yi Chew is the pioneer of CrossFit in Singapore. She was the one who introduced Coach Sam to the sport.

Not going to go in to the full history. The conversation was about how I’m not being given the real dose of CrossFit yet. As I would later explained myself, I wasn’t trying to say that CrossFit is too easy for me. It’s probably just my love for it that makes me want more of it. I believe and trust in Coach Sam’s programming and the training methodology that he stands for. And I think Coach Sam is getting fed up that I keep saying he’s not pushing me hard enough. Because he posted a video after I completed today’s WOD with a warning to be careful with what I wish for. Hehe.

Anyway, today’s WOD was 5 rounds of 21 box jumps and 15 deadlifts of my body weight. Halfway through the box jumps, I wanted to give up. It came to a point where I was just screaming at myself to push through. And then, my mind started to fill up with thoughts like”I’m not stopping till I’m dead”. It’s a place I have never entered before in my mind. It was this dark place where I ignore the pain I was feeling in my body and keep going. This is what I looked like during the WOD and how I collapsed on the ground after I was done:

941835_10151487891958692_2002856372_n

CrossFit is really a mental game as well as a physical game. When your body is ready to give up, it’s up to your mind to keep you in the game. As long as your mind hold firm, you will be able to keep going. Yes, CrossFit may look tough. But nothing worth having, comes easy. If you want real and true fitness, CrossFit is the sport you should be in.

Which brings me to my next point. Since I started writing about my CrossFit journey, numerous people, strangers and friends have been asking me about CrossFit and how it’s like.

I’m happy to take time out to explain to them, but I also make it crystal clear to them that this is not a cheap sport. The reason why it’s expensive is because, you pay for world-class teaching. It’s as simple as that. Now, I understand that money is important and hard to come by. Look, we are in Singapore, one of the most expensive cities in the world.

What really pisses me off and gets on my nerves is some people who are willing to blow $300 on a new pair of jeans or on a new gadget every other month, are also the ones who exclaimed loudly that CrossFit is expensive when I told them about the price. These are the same people who wants to make a difference to their body, but are unwilling to spend the money where it matters. Isn’t that amazing?

The bottom line is, yes, CrossFit is expensive. But I assure you that you get what you paid for. After all, when you put in the effort, you get the results.

2 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Gyms, Singapore

2 responses to “Day 10: “I’m only stopping when I’m dead”

  1. I’ve been hesitating too because I think it’s too expensive. That’s because I have a membership to a regular gym. If I didn’t have that, I would love to sign up immediately for a crossfit package. That being said, I must check when the payments for the gym are stopping…

Leave a Reply

