Day 16: Recovery

2013-05-16 08.53.51

 

 

After two weeks training of 6 days a week and picking myself off the floor after WODs, I decided that instead of taking only one day off every week for recovery. I will take two from now on.

I guess in my mind, I didn’t want to use “I’m so sore” as an excuse to miss training. So I got up yesterday morning and hobbled to the box despite having a sore lower back. The WOD yesterday was a Hero’s WOD, which is called “Morrison”. The exercises in the WOD was descending reps of 50,40,30,20,10 of wall balls, box jumps and ketttlebell swings.

You know the “moment” when you know your body needs a break? Well, that “moment” flashed in my mind the moment I started doing the box jumps. My lower back was screaming. I managed to hang on without giving up and finished the 10 reps of 30 kettlebell swings, which was the 3rd set.

I talked to Coach Sam after training and he told me maybe it’s because he’s starting to push me a little harder. But he left it up to my own discretion on whether to take a break from training the next day, because at the end of the day, it is my own body.

I think this extra rest day has been a long time coming. Last Saturday, after training, Coach Shawn had a chat with me. He asked me how many times I train a week and how many days I take off to recover. When I told him that I trained 6 days a week with only 1 rest day, he seemed surprised. He shared with me that over the years, he has learnt to take an extra day off. Well, I guess that was a hint to me.

I hate rest days, because it makes me feel like I’m a bum, just lazing around. But well, if that extra day is going to be beneficial to my body and training performance, then, why not?

1 Comment

Filed under Fitness, Health, Singapore

One response to “Day 16: Recovery

  1. An important part of working out is getting a good recovery for our body. Our muscles grow when we rest and then push ourselves harder the rest of the week. Great post.

Leave a Reply

