Life WOD

I find myself starting to get more disciplined in life generally, ever since I started CrossFit. Before that, I was only disciplined in my training. I had the discipline to stay on track to meet my fitness goals but I didn’t have the same discipline when it came to the other aspects of my life.

I scratched my head really hard as to how to translate the discipline I had for my training to the other aspects of my life till I started CrossFit. You may wonder how CrossFit helps one to translate discipline to other parts of one’s life. It’s simple. Because there are various skills in CrossFit, it really takes the discipline to have patience while training to master all of them. It’s the same in life. You have so many things going on at once, you will need the discipline to stay focus to deal with all of them.

Everything fell in to place when I watched this video on Lucas Parker, a veteran CrossFit Games competitor. In it, he talked about using the the principles of a WOD in CrossFit and applying it in to his daily life. 

When Parker said that he believed in putting “your whole life into a state of training”, I realised I found the final piece to my puzzle. I decided to follow his advice and try to find the structure and purpose in everything I do, aside from my training.

So I started writing everything down (usually while nursing a cup of cappuccino in a quiet cafe). Here are a few examples:

  1. What I wanted to achieve in training, my goals and what I needed to improve.
  2. My approach to my work in my career. When I made a few mistake and realised I had to tweak some things, I sat down and wrote down what I had to change.
  3. When I went back to army for my reservist, I wrote down my approach to the 5 days in camp. Which is doing everything I didn’t do in active service. I’m not proud to admit that I was very slack then. Still, I was surprised to be awarded a Letter of Commendation for outstanding performance during the 5 days.
  4. My savings. I’m a spendthrift and I don’t have much savings to speak of. But when I started working full-time, I realised I had to change my spending habits. I open another savings account, sat down and ponder how much I had to save each month (with a solo trip in mind), and how much I had to give my parents etc.

The list is not exhaustive and I will still make changes from time to time. I’m not a life guru and I don’t have the answers to everything in life. Strange as it sounds, I quietly rejoice every time I make a mistake because it’s an opportunity for me to learn. So go on, make your life a WOD and reap the rewards of your discipline.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Life WOD

  1. Hi, every time i used to check web site posts here
    in the early hours in the daylight, as i like to gain
    knowledge of more and more.

Leave a Reply

