Luke 9:23

Where is your source of strength from?

As I go through this journey of coping with my injury and searching for the light in the midst of darkness, I have been trying to find the answers to what went wrong.

When I saw the question above one day, I stopped and asked myself, where is my source of strength from? What do I turn to, to find my strength? Who am I drawing strength from?

And right there and then, I realised that as a Christian, I was no longer turning to God to seek and find strength. Instead, I was drawing my strength from CrossFit. I’m a guy who is very focused. When I’m doing something, I stay on that track and I’m blind to everything else around me. I was so in love with CrossFit, that I had unknowingly became obsessed with it. God allows things to happen for a reason and getting injured was one of them.

Look, I’m not saying God allowed the injury to happen to “punish” me. What I’m saying is, God is a jealous God. And as his children, when we seek strength or find comfort in things that are not beneficial for us, He gently reminds us that He should be in the number 1 spot in our life.

He’s also not saying that I should give up CrossFit. After all, as a fellow brother-in-christ and CrossFitter told me, it’s not a coincidence that it’s called “Cross-Fit”.

It’s about giving up my love to God and surrendering it all to Him. As much as I want to beat myself up for getting here in the first place, I have come to understand that this is part of my spiritual growth. The “1-step forward, 2-steps back” mentality that I adopt when God teaches me a lesson, needs to go. I can do all I can to prevent a similar situation from happening again in the future, but I know it’s not possible. The fact of the matter is, it is through lessons like these that I’m reminded dying to self is a lifelong process. Therefore, I should be thankful and rejoice that God is teaching me such lessons.

I will end with words from Rich Froning, 2x and reigning CrossFit Games champion:

“God’s word has taught me that the key to truly winning is not to be first. The key to winning is to put God first”

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Fitness

5 responses to “Luke 9:23

  1. Eleanor

    For awhile there I was worried u thought u really drew strength from Crossfit rather than from God but I’m glad to see you r enlightened n wiser to know it is God that we put first in everything we do. To share with you, when I do WOD I always ask HIM to give me the strength n determination to finish. I think to stray away from Him is only human but to realize n then come back to Him speaks bounds n leaps closer to walking in his footstep. Hang in there, pray for his healing n ask him to let u come back to Crossfit stronger n wiser. 👏✌

    • tauhuayboy

      Thanks Eleanor, for the tip. Yes, as humans, it is hard to resist the temptation to stray. But with God, everything is possible 🙂

  2. Hi Shawn,
    I love this blog of yours! I was just googling about for people’s experiences with CrossFit and how that relates to our faith in Christ and stumbled upon yours. Awesome post! – Justin

  3. I’m already doing it! : ) though not from the box that you are from. It’s been my first month.

Leave a Reply

