#SinCity2013 musings

1487348_552216854867144_131315232_n

I fell really sick after #SinCity2013 ended, so in my downtime, I decided to break down the event on my own. So here it goes.

When Melanie and I sat down to plan for Sin City Invitationals about 3 months ago with full support from our coach, Uncle Sam, we didn’t have much resources to work with. All we had were three main goals:

1) For the Invitationals to be as stripped down as possible. Not flashy like the 2013 CrossFit Games. But like the 2007 CrossFit Games, which was held on a ranch in Aromas, California.

2) The focus will be on the athletes. We knew that given how strong and tight CrossFit’s Asian community were, they would carry this event.

3) To make this an event that Asian CrossFitters can proudly call their own.

I’m proud to say we managed to achieve all three goals. Sure, there were kinks and bumps along the way, but we preserved and pushed on, knowing that our love for CrossFit would see us through despite both of us not having participated in any CrossFit competition before.

Many have asked us why we didn’t have live streaming or why we didn’t reach out to the mainstream media to cover this event. Well, honestly, live-streaming was beyond our budget and we were also confident about the power of social media, given that we had come to a mutual conclusion on the second point of our main goals. And boy, did it turned out to be the right choice.  SingaSports was the first to approach us about covering the event, then Fitness Sutra. Even Brunei’s mainstream newspaper, The Brunei Times, covered our event. Not bad for an event that didn’t send out any press kits.

Now, I have a confession to make. As Director of Media, having a team to work with wasn’t the first thing that came to my mind. I’m not sure why, maybe there were voices in my head that told me I could do this all on my own or maybe I wasn’t expecting this event to be really big. That is why I’m so thankful to be working with Mel. She showed me how I wouldn’t be able to do everything on my own and how subconsciously, I was selfish and didn’t like to delegate stuff.

Which brings me to my next point about forming a team. To be honest, when I first picked Farhan, Alvin and Juven to be in the team, I was really hesitant to assign tasks for them. But when I did, they really shone through with their respective tasks. I couldn’t have asked for a better team and a boss like Mel, who showed me why having a team was important in the first place. Also, a shoutout to our official photographer, Norman, for the wonderful pictures.

Overall, I’m pretty satisfied with the media coverage pre, during and post Sin City Invitationals. During the months and days leading up to the event, we decided to do athletes’ profiles on our Facebook page since focusing on the athletes was one of our main goals. That went a long way in helping the athletes bond during the event itself, as most of them were meeting each other for the first time. I was also pleased with event coverage, given that the Director of Media for CrossFit Asia Regionals informed us that she would be there as a spectator and would assist us in any way. That gave me an additional incentive to work harder and made sure the media team was top-notch.

What I really loved was the post event media coverage. I used to feel disconnected when I look at pre and post event pictures of overseas CrossFit regional events like The Primal Series and Granite Games, thinking that I would never experience such an event. But all that changed when the Invitationals ended. As I scrolled through my news feed, I realized that our goal of allowing CrossFitters living in Asia to finally have a competition that they can proudly call their own had been achieved. It had been a long time coming, but better late than never.

I can’t wait for Sin City Invitationals 2014. It will be bigger and more exciting!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

